Eligibility, Pattern and Syllabus for IAS Exam

Civil Services examination is the most prestigious examination in India conducted by UPSC (Union Public Service Commission). There are 24 services included in civil service consisting IAS, IPS, IFS etc. IAS has 1st ranked among all 24 services. IAS exam considered as the toughest examination.

Important Facts About IAS

Here are few things you need to know about civil services examination.

Qualification Graduation Degree in any stream
Age Limit Gen –   32 years

OBC –  32+3 = 35 years

SC / ST – 32+ 5 = 37 years

(Relaxation as per govt norms)

No. of Attempts Gen – 6

OBC – 9

SC / ST – No Limit


Exam Pattern for IAS Exam

Civil services is one of the toughest examination. It conducts three stage examination i.e. Prelims, Mains and Interview.

IAS Prelims –

It consists two papers i.e. Paper 1 and Paper 2 held on a same day in two shifts.


Paper Topic Qns + Time Marks Type Medium
Paper 1 General Study 100 Qs in 2 hrs 200

Penalty – 1/3

Multiple Choice Hindi / English
Paper 2 CSAT 80 Qs in 2 hrs 200

Penalty – 1/3

Qualifying only – 33%

Multiple Choice Hindi / English


IAS Mains –

it consists 9 Paper conducted on multiple days. Generally, it is a 5 days examination. Marks for Question paper A and B only for merit ranking.

Paper Topic Type Marks
Question paper A Choose any one Language from 8th Schedule Written 300
Question paper B English Written 300
Paper 1 Essay  Written 250
Paper 2 GS Paper 1  Written 250
Paper 3 GS Paper 2  Written 250
Paper 4 GS Paper 3  Written 250
Paper 5 GS paper 4  Written 250
Paper 6 Optional Subject – Paper 1  Written 250
Paper 7 Optional Subject – Paper 2  Written 250
Sub Total 1750
Interview 275
Total Marks 2025


Interview –

It is the last stage of IAS exam. After clearing IAS mains examination, you will get a call for the interview.

Syllabus For IAS

Click on the link to view the complete syllabus for IAS Exam – Get IAS Syllabus

Leave a Reply

Close Menu